

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION OF NORTH DAKOTA OIL AND GAS RESEARCH COUNCIL

Governor
John Hoeven
Attorney General
Wayne Stenehjem
Agriculture Commissioner
Roger Johnson

News Release

January 30, 2004

For Immediate Release

Industrial Commission Approves Oil and Gas Research Policies

BISMARCK -- The Industrial Commission has approved new policies for obtaining grants from the newly created Oil and Gas Research Fund. The fund, together with the Oil and Gas Research Council, were authorized by the 2003 Legislature.

"The oil and gas industry plays an important role in North Dakota's economy," said Gov. John Hoeven. "Partnering with the private sector helps us leverage the dollars and promotes further development of research to ensure a promising future for the oil and gas industry in our state."

"The mission of the Oil and Gas Research Council is to promote the growth of the oil and gas industry through research and education," said Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem. "Individuals interested in submitting an application can go to the Industrial Commission's website http://www.state.nd.us/ndic/ogrp-infopage.htm and find the council policies, goals and a document that will outline the application format and process."

"The Legislature appropriated \$50,000 for the program this biennium with the funding increasing to \$1.3 million next biennium," said Agriculture Commissioner Roger Johnson "The first application deadline is March 1, 2004 and applications should be submitted to the Industrial Commission Office at the State Capitol."

Information on qualifying projects is available on the Commission's website or by contacting the Industrial Commission by e-mail at kfine@state.nd.us or writing to the Industrial Commission at 600 East Boulevard, 14th Floor, State Capitol, Bismarck, North Dakota, 58505.

For more information regarding the OGRC including grant round deadline dates, visit our web site at: http://www.state.nd.us/ndic/ogrp-infopage.htm

- 30 -FURTHER INFORMATION: Karlene Fine (701) 328-3722

Wayne Biberdorf, Chairman John Bluemle Ryan Kopseng Al Anderson, Vice Chairman Lynn Helms Bob Mau Ron Anderson Dean U. Koppelman Ron Ness

